Noodle craze: Spaghetti ala Arrabiatta

Standard

image

I used to post everyday and it’s been a while since I’ve done that because of a number of reasons. I would like to make it up to the few followers that I have, so I christen this day as Pasta Week. Pasta is my go to food to order whenever I don’t want to eat a heavy meal. The recipe that I am about to share is one of my absolute  favorites and what I have whenever I crave for something spicy.

So ladies and gents for the start of Pasta week, I present spaghetti ala Arrabiatta. Enjoy. 🙂

Spaghetti ala Arrabiatta

What you’ll need

200 grams spaghetti
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons of red chili flakes
1 teaspoon of parsley, finely chopped
1/8 teaspoon of salt
1 can (400 grams) whole peeled tomatoes, dice then mash it

How to do it

1. Prepare the spaghetti: boil the pasta with two (2) liters of water, two (2) tablespoons of olive oil and 1 teaspoon of salt.

2. In a medium sized non-stick sauce pan, heat olive oil. Once the oil is hot add the garlic, parsley and red chili flakes.

3. Once the garlic transforms into a beautiful golden brown color, add canned whole tomatoes and let it simmer.

4. When it’s already simmering, taste the sauce and add salt, if you find it a little bland. Once you’ve adjust the taste to your liking let it simmer for another 3 to 4 minutes.

5. Add cooked pasta and make sure to mix them well. Enjoy.  🙂

Serves four (4) people. 🙂

Notes on this recipe

*  The amount of chili flakes completely depends to your liking. If you want it to be milder or if you want to be a fire breathing person, its all up to you

* The pasta that is usually used for Arrabiatta is Penne but unfortunately I just ran out of it so I opted to use spaghetti.

* I just opted to use chili flakes since that is what is available to me at the moment, but you can also use red chili.

How much did everything cost?

Spaghetti – Php 79.50
Garlic –  Php 83.50
Olive oil – Php 128.50
Red chili flakes – Php 75.00
Parsley – Php 46.30
Salt – Php 10.00
Canned whole tomatoes – Php 46.50

Leave a comment