Beef Steak Tagalog (Bistek Tagalog)

Standard

I’m such a sucker for cookbooks or recipe books. Every time I see a cookbook, I feel all giddy up inside because I love to read and learn new recipes. Seeing how cooks/chefs add their personal touch to existing recipes in order to spice them up and learning how the old masters do things during their time inspires me. From time to time I have the urge to flip through my cookbook collection and try a particular recipe, but ever since I started going to work I just can’t seem to find the time to do so.

I remember watching the movie “Julie & Julia” and how I was immediately inspired to also create my own food blog. I would love for people to see or read my journey one cookbook at a time, but again I just can’t seem to find the time and energy to do so – even during weekends. So that inspiration was set aside, thinking I can do it later when I have the time.

Now I have finally found time. I have all the time in the world to make my inspiration come to life, hence this blog – The Home-schooled chef”.

I would really love to share some grand recipe, something that isn’t that common but unfortunately we haven’t done our groceries yet and I have to settle for what is inside our refrigerator. The result: Beef steak tagalog, or as Filipinos call it “Bistek Tagalog”. This was one of the many viands that I’ve learned from my grandmother, this is me paying homage to her.

Beef Steak Tagalog

Recipe

1/4 cup calamansi juice (native lemon)
1/3 cup soy sauce
1/4 teaspoon cracked pepper
1/3 kilo beef tenderloin strips
1 potato,cut into strips (optional)
1/4 cup butter
1 large red onion, sliced into rings
1/4 cup water

Procedure

1. Combine the calamansi juice, soy sauce and pepper in a bowl then place the beef strips and let it marinate for 30 minutes.
2. Once you are done marinating, remove the beef from the marinade and set it aside.
3. In a pan heat the butter then sear the beef on medium to high heat, add more butter if deemed needed.
4. Once the beef is cooked, add the onions and cook until is translucent.
5. Add in the marinade and water and let it simmer for 3 minutes.
6. Add the fried potatoes, stir for a minute then remove from heat.

* Serves 3 to 4 persons | Best served with hot rice. 🙂

Notes on cooking this recipe

1. You can use the concentrated calamansi juice as an alternative to the real calamansi. I just discovered this upon doing this recipe since I couldn’t get my hands on the real thing. 
2. The trick for searing the tenderloin strips? Just sear it for 3 to 5 minutes. This prevents the beef from being over-cooked.